Gaming on Linux Update

I was never sure how I was going to handle or record updates to the Gameshelf page so figured this would be the best place to do that.

I have an aging RTX 2080 Ti graphics card and am running Pop!_OS as an operating system.

The graphics card had been giving me a lot of grief lately where it was hitting 86°C while gaming which caused the fans to spin up to over 4000 RPM which was really loud. I spent some time yesterday and took the card apart to have a look.

The thermal paste that comes stock from the factory was very dry and very sparse, I’m not sure how much contact was actually being made. Secondly, the thermal pads were not in a great state either.

I spent a couple of hours removing the old thermal paste and pads and cleaning the components before re-applying new paste and pads.

I’m so glad that I did this as I was able to game with the graphics card sitting between 65-75°C and fans at an ideally 2000 RPM.

Second to that, I was able to get Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy running with the latest Nvidia 515 drivers and GE-Proton7-24. Happy with this as I’ve been wanting to play this but wasn’t able to until now. Looking to finish this up before Season 4 of World of Warcraft kicks off.

Looking forward to my 2080 Ti working for a little while longer before I’m able to build a new PC.


View this page on GitHub.